All of life can relate to American Idol somehow…

Maybe that’s why I like it.  Hopes, dreams, successes, failures, the ludicrous and ridiculous, some painfully obvious that they don’t have a chance, and yet against all odds it is all played out on the stage for all to see.  One of the things in the auditions that resonated with me this season was a 28-year old African-American man, a dad and a high school band director (I’m partial to him already…band directors made a huge impact on me growing up).  He does a decent job on a Michael Jackson Thriller number.  Simon and his posse are all duly impressed, and Simon says something to the effect that people usually fail miserably when doing MJ songs, but he did quite well–still, he’s wondering why the guy chose to do the song.  The guy answers unapologetically, “I like it.”  That’s it.  Take that, Simon.

And so here I am, and while I don’t really mind my students knowing how old I am (because at least they might trust that I know something if they think I have done this job a while, and am even older than most of their parents) I’m not going to hand them my age on a silver platter.  I may say, if they are so bold as to ask, “I’m as old as the St. Louis Arch and the Civil Rights Act.  I was not yet born when Kennedy was in office.”  They’re going to have to do some math and research to find out my age.  And yet, at this not so young age,  we’re going to adopt again.  WHY?  WHY?  Because, like the guy on American Idol, “We want to.” Because being around children is the most wonderful thing in the world.  Yes, it’s also the most exhausting, but is there anything worth doing that isn’t at some point exhausting?  How many adults reading this have someone you work with look at you and randomly say, “(Insert your name here), I love you.”  I have that at least once a week by the same child in my classroom, just out of the blue, for no reason.  Just because.  And the most wonderful moments of my life have been those I have experienced as a parent.  Being a mom.  Indescribable.  I love how Melany says it in Gone With the Wind, when she shares her news that she’s expecting, and Rhett Butler says it’s too dangerous:  “Captain Butler, children are life renewing itself.  And when life does that, danger seems very far away.”  (All right, I know she dies in the end because of this but THAT’S NOT THE POINT!  She said it so eloquently!)  Anyway, I’m very excited to have just sent in our special needs application which should speed things along after we’ve been waiting 2 1/2 years already on our little one from China.  Can’t wait to see where God leads us.  AHHHHH!!!!

Published in: on February 9, 2009 at 9:01 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://annsbigpicture.wordpress.com/2009/02/09/all-of-life-can-relate-to-american-idol-somehow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What eloquence, what a gift for story telling and life sharing…I look forward to more.

  2. I can’t wait to meet the new little one! Love you all!


Leave a Reply

